

MĀORI EDUCATION TRUST 2024 UNDERGRADUATE SCHOLARSHIPS

Scholarships and Criteria

AgResearch Undergraduate Scholarship

Available to full-time Māori undergraduate students studying in the fields of Agriculture or Environmental Sciences.

Awhina Nursing Scholarship (Undergraduate)

Available to full-time Māori undergraduate students enrolled at the UCOL Palmerston North campus and are in their second or subsequent year of study for a Bachelor of Nursing.

Edward Holmes Tertiary Scholarship (Open to Undergraduate and Postgraduate)

Open to those who whakapapa to a hapū or marae of the Wairarapa Tāmaki Nui a Rua Rohe and are registered to the Ngāti Kahungunu Ki Wairarapa Tāmaki Nui-A-Rua Settlement Trust.

Frances Irwin Hunt Art Scholarship (Undergraduate)

Available to full-time Māori undergraduate students studying in the fields of performing or cultural arts

which may include, but not be limited to: dance, music, art, theatre/film. Priority will be given to students with academic merit and financial need.

Frank Sydenham Trust Undergraduate Scholarship

Available to full-time Māori undergraduate students studying in fields of Agriculture, Horticulture, Forestry, and Veterinary/Animal Science.

Kokako Māori Land Trust (Open to Undergraduate and Postgraduate)

Must be a registered beneficiary of the Kokako Māori Land Trust.

Māori Education Trust Bachelor of Dental Surgery Scholarship (Undergraduate)

Available to Māori undergraduate students who have completed their first year of a Bachelor of Dental Surgery. Priority will be given to students with financial need.

Māori Education Trust Undergraduate Scholarship (Undergraduate)

Available to Māori undergraduate students who are in their second or third year of study in 2024. Priority will be given to students with financial need.

Ngā Rauru Kītahi Iwi (Open to Undergraduate and Postgraduate)

Open to members registered with Ngā Rauru Kītahi Iwi.

Ngā Tāngata Tiaki o Whanganui (Open to Undergraduate and Postgraduate)

Open to those who whakapapa to a hapu or marae of the Whanganui Rohe and are registered on the Whanganui Iwi Registrar.

Ngāti Kea Ngāti Tuara Iwi (Open to Undergraduate and Postgraduate)

Open to members registered with Ngāti Kea Ngāti Tuara Iwi.

Nicholas Irwin Hunt Writing Scholarship (Undergraduate)

Available to full-time Māori undergraduate writers, with preference to those studying in the field of journalism. Priority will be given to students with proven writing ability, academic merit, and financial need.

Norman Kirk Memorial Scholarship (Undergraduate)

Available to full-time Māori undergraduate students studying at a recognised New Zealand tertiary institute. Priority will be given to students with financial need and academic merit.

$\underline{\textbf{Regina Rudland Memorial Scholarship}} \, \textbf{(Undergraduate)}$

Available to a full-time Māori student of Ngāti Porou descent, undertaking study in the field of Agriculture or Apiculture at Level 3 or higher. Priority will be given to those with demonstrated financial need.

Rose Hellaby Bursaries Scholarship (Undergraduate)

Available to full-time Māori undergraduate students studying to become qualified or employed in a profession or calling which includes scientific, mathematical or technical skills. Priority will be given to students with academic merit and leadership.

Roy Watling Mitchell Bursaries Scholarship (Undergraduate)

Available to first-year Māori undergraduate students who attended secondary school as a Year 13 student in 2023. Priority will be given to students with academic merit and financial need.

Sir Apirana Ngata Memorial Scholarship (Undergraduate)

Available to a full-time Māori undergraduate student studying at a recognised New Zealand tertiary institute, who attended Ngata Memorial College or Te Kura Kaupapa o Te Waiū o Ngāti Porou as a Year 13 student in 2023. Priority will be given to students with

academic merit.

Sister Annie Henry Scholarship (Secondary or Tertiary Level)

Available to Māori students who are a direct descendant of Reverend John George Laughton or of Tūhoe descent.

Tangiharuru Apa Māori Land Trust (Open to Undergraduate and Postgraduate)

Must be a descendant of Tangiharuru and Apa or a beneficiary of the Tangiharuru Apa Land Trust.

Tarere Trust 2 Scholarship (Undergraduate)

Open to shareholders or descendants of current landowners of Tarere Trust 2.

Te Whaiti Nui a Toi Māori Land Trust (Open to Undergraduate and Postgraduate)

Open to 'Registered Owners or descendants of Registered Owners,' or 'Beneficiaries and descendants of beneficiaries in a Whanau Trust constituted in terms of Te Ture Whenua Māori Act 1993.'

Theta and Māori Education Trust Scholarship

Available to a full-time Undergraduate student studying towards a Bachelor's Degree in Technology or Computer Science fields.

<u>Tī Maru Māori Trust Scholarship</u> (Undergraduate)

Available to full-time Māori undergraduate students enrolled in their final year of study at a recognised New Zealand tertiary institute. Priority will be given to students with academic merit.

Tribal Education Scholarship (Undergraduate)

Available to Māori students studying Information Technology. Priority will be given to first year tertiary students.

Whakatohea Iwi (Open to Undergraduate and Postgraduate)

Open to members registered with Whakatohea Iwi

Whanake - HERA Scholarship

Available to full-time Māori undergraduate students enrolled in a Bachelor of Engineering degree (Structural or Mechanical). (Please note: Applicants must also be available for a paid summer internship, which is based in Auckland.)

The link to the online application is available at the Māori Education Trust (MET) website. Alternatively, email the office and an application form will be sent to you.

Applications close:

4.00 pm, Friday, 31 Haratua (May) 2024.

Feel free to contact the office for further information.

Postal Address: PO Box 413, Wellington Box Lobby, Wellington 6140

Phone: (04) 586 7971

Email: info@maorieducation.org.nz / Website: www.maorieducation.org.nz