

MĀORI EDUCATION TRUST 2024 POSTGRADUATE SCHOLARSHIPS

Scholarships and Criteria

<u>AgResearch Undergraduate Scholarship</u> Available to full-time Māori undergraduate students in the fields of Agriculture or Environmental Sciences.
<u>Edward Holmes Tertiary Scholarship</u> (Open to Undergraduate and Postgraduate) Open to those who whakapapa to a hapū or marae of the Wairarapa Tāmaki Nui a Rua Rohe and are registered to the Ngāti Kahungunu Ki Wairarapa Tāmaki Nui-A-Rua Settlement Trust.
Eric Hall McCormick Scholarship (Postgraduate) Available to Māori students undertaking research at postgraduate level in a field which is of significant benefit to Māori. Priority will be given to students attending the University of Auckland.
Frank Sydenham Trust Postgraduate Scholarship
Available to full time Māori postgraduate students studying in fields of Agriculture, Horticulture, Forestry and Veterinary/Animal Science.
Kokako Māori Land Trust (Open to Undergraduate and Postgraduate) Must be a registered beneficiary of the Kokako Māori Land Trust.
<u>Māori Education Trust Postgraduate Scholarship</u> (Postgraduate) Available to Māori postgraduate students undertaking postgraduate study. Priority will be given to students with financial need.
Māori Education Trust Postgraduate Scholarship: Hāpu or Iwi Development (Postgraduate) Available to Māori postgraduate students undertaking study in a field that will support the strategic interests and direction of their Hāpu or Iwi. Applicants must submit a letter of support from the Chair (or equivalent).
Māori Education Trust Postgraduate Scholarship: STEM (Postgraduate) Available to Māori postgraduate students undertaking study in science (biology, chemistry, physics), technology, engineering, or mathematics. Applicants must meet all criteria and submit two references, one of which must be an academic reference.
<u>Ngā Rauru Kītahi Iwi</u> (Open to Undergraduate and Postgraduate) Open to members registered with Ngā Rauru Kītahi Iwi.
Ngā Tāngata Tiaki o Whanganui (Open to Undergraduate and Postgraduate)
Open to those who whakapapa to a hapū or marae of the Whanganui Rohe and are registered on the Whanganui Iwi Registrar.
<u>Ngāti Kea Ngāti Tuara Iwi (</u> Open to Undergraduate and Postgraduate) Open to members registered with Ngāti Kea Ngāti Tuara Iwi.
Queen Elizabeth II Post-Graduate Fellowship (Postgraduate) Available to a Māori or non-Māori graduate with excellent academic ability, who plans to research at postgraduate level, in a field that will benefit Māori. (Please contact the office for an application).
Rangiriri and Mātene Te Whiwhi Winiata Scholarship (Postgraduate) Available to Māori graduates to enable them to complete postgraduate studies. Pre-requisite is completion of a Master's degree.
Rose Hellaby Postgraduate Scholarship (Postgraduate) These prestigious scholarships are available to Māori students with a record of proven academic excellence, undertaking Masters or PhD postgraduate study in the fields of engineering, mathematics, science, technology or medicine. (Please contact the office for an application)
Roy Watling Mitchell Prestigious Professions Scholarship Available to a Māori graduate with a record of academic excellence.
<u>Sir John Bennett Memorial PhD Scholarship (</u> Postgraduate) Available to Māori students who have a Master's or Honours degree and are enrolled in a PhD programme of study.

 Sir John Bennett Memorial Postgraduate Scholarship (Postgraduate)

 Available to Māori students who have completed a bachelor's degree and are enrolled full-time in either a Bachelor of Arts (Honours) or

 Master's degree.

 Sister Annie Henry Scholarship (Secondary or Tertiary level)

 Available to Māori students who are a direct descendant of Reverend John George Laughton or of Tūhoe descent.

 Tangiharuru Apa Māori Land Trust (Open to Undergraduate and Postgraduate)

 Must be a descendant of Tangiharuru and Apa or a beneficiary of the Tangiharuru Apa Land Trust.

<u>Te Whaiti Nui a Toi Māori Land Trust</u> (Open to Undergraduate and Postgraduate) Open to 'Registered Owners or descendants of Registered Owners,' or 'Beneficiaries and descendants of beneficiaries in a Whanau Trust constituted in terms of Te Ture Whenua Māori Act 1993.'

<u>Tī Maru Māori Trust Prestigious Scholarship</u> (Postgraduate) Available to Māori graduates with a record of academic excellence.

<u>Whakatohea Iwi</u> (Open to Undergraduate and Postgraduate) Open to members registered with Whakatohea Iwi.

The link to the online application is available at the Māori Education Trust (MET) website. Alternatively, email the office and an application form will be sent to you.

Applications close:

4.00 pm, Tuesday, 30 Paenga-whāwhā (April) 2024.

Feel free to contact the office for further information.

Postal Address:PO Box 413, Wellington Box Lobby, Wellington 6140Phone:(04) 586 7971Email:info@maorieducation.org.nz / Website: www.maorieducation.org.nz