Licence Controller Qualification (LCQ)

Photo of a training student bartender

Did you know all licensed premises are required to have a written Host Responsibility Plan (HRP)?

Host Responsibility – The Duty Manager’s role in ensuring the effective management of licensed premises with regard to the Sale and Supply of Alcohol Act 2012.

This seminar will provide you with the appropriate information to demonstrate knowledge of the Sale and Supply of Alcohol Act 2012 to maintain responsible drinking environments in licensed premises.

Course code

RLCQ401

Level

4

Credits

5.0

Estimated hours

12.0

Cost

$263.00 (Domestic)
$329.00 (International)

Please note: You may be charged a portion of the Compulsory Student Services Fee that supports our services available to students. For full information on the Compulsory Student Services Fee, visit fees and finance.

How to apply

To apply for one of our short courses, fill in a paper copy of our application form, available here, then either drop it in to your nearest campus or mail it to us at Enrolment Centre, Ara Institute of Canterbury, PO Box 540, Christchurch Mail Centre.

Learning outcomes

  • Demonstrate knowledge of the Sale and Supply of Alcohol Act 2012 and its implications for licensed premises (4646).
  • Demonstrate knowledge of alcohol and intoxication in licensed premises as a duty manager (16705).
  • Demonstrate knowledge of the responsibilities and requirements for alcohol service in licensed premises as a duty manager (16705).
  • Demonstrate knowledge of the maintenance of a safe drinking environment as a duty manager (16705).
Related courses

International Wines and Spirits – WSET

This short course will broaden your knowledge and give you an internationally recognised wine qualification.

Read More

Barista Essentials

This course will give you the technical skills required to operate a commercial espresso machine and produce espresso and espresso-based beverages.

Read More

Food Safety

Gain a practical insight of the importance of food safety in the hospitality industry.

Read More

Upcoming Dates

Monday 28 January -
Tuesday 05 February

Monday 8.30am - 4.30pm; Tuesday 1pm - 4.30pm

Christchurch - Madras Street
Monday 11 March -
Tuesday 19 March

Monday 8.30am - 4.30pm; Tuesday 1pm - 4.30pm

Christchurch - Madras Street
Monday 29 April -
Monday 13 May

8.30am - 4.30pm

Timaru
Monday 25 March -
Tuesday 02 April

Monday 8.30am - 4.30pm; Tuesday 1pm - 4.30pm

Christchurch - Madras Street
Monday 08 April -
Tuesday 16 April

Monday 8.30am - 4.30pm; Tuesday 1pm - 4.30pm

Christchurch - Madras Street
Monday 29 April -
Tuesday 07 May

Monday 8.30am - 4.30pm; Tuesday 1pm - 4.30pm

Christchurch - Madras Street
Monday 13 May -
Tuesday 21 May

Monday 8.30am - 4.30pm; Tuesday 1pm - 4.30pm

Christchurch - Madras Street
Monday 27 May -
Tuesday 04 June

Monday 8.30am - 4.30pm; Tuesday 1pm - 4.30pm

Christchurch - Madras Street
Monday 10 June -
Monday 24 June

8.30am - 4.30pm

Timaru
Monday 10 June -
Tuesday 18 June

Monday 8.30am - 4.30pm; Tuesday 1pm - 4.30pm

Christchurch - Madras Street
Monday 24 June -
Tuesday 02 July

Monday 8.30am - 4.30pm; Tuesday 1pm - 4.30pm

Christchurch - Madras Street
Monday 22 July -
Tuesday 30 July

Monday 8.30am - 4.30pm; Tuesday 1pm - 4.30pm

Christchurch - Madras Street
Monday 05 August -
Tuesday 13 August

Monday 8.30am - 4.30pm; Tuesday 1pm - 4.30pm

Christchurch - Madras Street
Monday 26 August -
Tuesday 03 September

Monday 8.30am - 4.30pm; Tuesday 1pm - 4.30pm

Christchurch - Madras Street
Monday 09 September -
Tuesday 17 September

Monday 8.30am - 4.30pm; Tuesday 1pm - 4.30pm

Christchurch - Madras Street
Monday 29 July -
Monday 12 August

8.30am - 4.30pm

Timaru
Monday 21 October -
Monday 04 November

8.30am - 4.30pm

Timaru
Monday 23 September -
Tuesday 01 October

Monday 8.30am - 4.30pm; Tuesday 1pm - 4.30pm

Christchurch - Madras Street
Monday 14 October -
Tuesday 22 October

Monday 8.30am - 4.30pm; Tuesday 1pm - 4.30pm

Christchurch - Madras Street
Monday 04 November -
Tuesday 12 November

Monday 8.30am - 4.30pm; Tuesday 1pm - 4.30pm

Christchurch - Madras Street
Monday 18 November -
Tuesday 26 November

Monday 8.30am - 4.30pm; Tuesday 1pm - 4.30pm

Christchurch - Madras Street