Food Safety for Industry

Food Safety for Industry

This course covers the practical skills and knowledge required to apply and integrate safe work practices in the workplace, and to provide safe food.

You’ll learn about presentation and hygiene standards for the workplace, identifying hazards and implementing strategies to control them, and how to prepare food to prevent contamination. You’ll also learn how to measure and record temperatures of high risk food and act on the results.

Please dress as you would for work in your workplace / working in a commercial kitchen. For health and safety reasons, wear flat, closed-in shoes.

Course code

FSFI200

Level

2

Credits

6.0

Estimated hours

12.0

Cost

$195.00

Learning outcomes

  • Maintain personal hygiene; demonstrate knowledge of contamination hazards and skills to prevent cross contamination when working with food.
  • Measure, record and act on temperature of high risk food.
  • Demonstrate knowledge of basic food contamination hazards in a food business.
  • Demonstrate knowledge of prevention of cross contamination of food in a food business.
Related courses

Bar Service

Learn about spirits, liqueurs and beers and the responsibilities of being a bartender.

Read More

Cocktail Mixology

Become an expert cocktail maker and impress your employer or friends with this hands-on short course.

Read More

International Wines and Spirits

This short course will broaden your knowledge and give you an internationally recognised wine qualification.

Read More

Latte Lab

Latte Lab is a three-day intensive course designed for anyone with existing barista skills who wishes to develop advanced milk texturing techniques.

Read More

Licence Controller Qualification (LCQ)

This seminar will provide you with the appropriate information to demonstrate knowledge of the Sale and Supply of Alcohol Act 2012 to maintain responsible drinking environments in licensed premises.

Read More

Barista Essentials

This course will give you the technical skills required to operate a commercial espresso machine and produce espresso and espresso-based beverages.

Read More

Upcoming Dates

Thursday 13 April -
Thursday 20 April

Thursday 13 and 20 April, 9:00am-4.30pm

Timaru
Thursday 13 April -
Friday 28 April

Thursday 13 April, 9am-4pm, Friday 28 April, 9am-4pm

Christchurch - Madras Street
Thursday 18 May -
Thursday 25 May

Thursday 18 and 25 May, 9:00am-4.30pm

Oamaru
Friday 07 July -
Friday 21 July

Friday 7 July, 9am-4pm, Friday 21 July, 9am-4pm

Christchurch - Madras Street
Thursday 13 July -
Thursday 20 July

Thursday 13 and 20 July, 9:00am-4.30pm

Oamaru
Thursday 24 August -
Friday 01 September

Thursday 24 August and 1 September, 9:00am-4.30pm

Timaru
Wednesday 27 September -
Wednesday 11 October

Friday 27 September, 9am-4pm, Friday 11 October, 9am-4pm

Christchurch - Madras Street
Thursday 05 October -
Thursday 12 October

Thursday 5 and 12 October, 9:00am-4.30pm

Timaru
Thursday 02 November -
Thursday 09 November

Thursday 2 and 9 November, 9:00am-4.30pm

Oamaru