Barista Essentials

Barista essentials online

Students can start the online component up to 3 weeks ahead of the course start date, then you will have access 85 days after the course finish date.

This course will give you the technical skills required to operate a commercial espresso machine and produce espresso and espresso-based beverages.

You’ll learn from passionate, experienced tutors in a real-life learning environment where you’ll gain coffee knowledge and became familiar with the espresso extraction process, steaming milk and milk pouring.

The course is delivered through a combination of hands-on practical and online learning. We recommend undertaking the online (theory) components first, so you’re well prepared for the practical sessions but you can do the online learning at any time during the course. For the online component, you’ll need access to a computer and the internet.

The practical component is made up of six, three-hour sessions on campus. To pass the course, you need to achieve 80% in each of the seven online assessments, and gain competency in each of the two practical assessments.

Course code

TSBT310

Level

3

Credits

12.0

Estimated hours

24.0

Cost

$399

Learning outcomes

  • Name key coffee producing countries.
  • Describe ways in which coffee beans are grown, processed and stored.
  • Use and maintain a coffee grinder.
  • Use and maintain an espresso machine.
Related courses

Bar Service

Learn about spirits, liqueurs and beers and the responsibilities of being a bartender.

Read More

Cocktail Mixology

Become an expert cocktail maker and impress your employer or friends with this hands-on short course.

Read More

International Wines and Spirits

This short course will broaden your knowledge and give you an internationally recognised wine qualification.

Read More

Latte Lab

Latte Lab is a three-day intensive course designed for anyone with existing barista skills who wishes to develop advanced milk texturing techniques.

Read More

Licence Controller Qualification (LCQ)

This seminar will provide you with the appropriate information to demonstrate knowledge of the Sale and Supply of Alcohol Act 2012 to maintain responsible drinking environments in licensed premises.

Read More

Food Safety for Industry

Gain the practical skills and knowledge required to apply and integrate safe work practices in the workplace, and to provide safe food.

Read More

Upcoming Dates

Monday 30 January -
Tuesday 07 March

Monday and Tuesday, 5.30pm-8.30pm

Christchurch City Campus
Monday 20 February -
Tuesday 28 March

Monday and Tuesday, 5.30pm-8.30pm

Christchurch City Campus
Monday 10 April -
Friday 23 June

Monday and Tuesday, 5.30pm-8.30pm

Christchurch City Campus
Monday 10 April -
Tuesday 16 May

Monday and Tuesday, 5.30pm-8.30pm

Christchurch City Campus
Monday 03 April -
Friday 28 April

Intensive Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday,

Time 9am-4pm

Christchurch City Campus
Monday 10 April -
Tuesday 16 May

Monday and Tuesday, 5.30pm-8.30pm

Christchurch City Campus
Monday 01 May -
Monday 12 June

Monday and Tuesday, 5.30pm-8.30pm

Christchurch City Campus
Monday 29 May -
Tuesday 04 July

Monday and Tuesday, 5.30pm-8.30pm

Christchurch City Campus
Monday 19 June -
Wednesday 12 July

Intensive option
Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday, 9am-4pm

Christchurch City Campus
Monday 19 June -
Wednesday 12 July

Intensive option
Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday, 9am-4pm

Christchurch City Campus
Monday 03 July -
Tuesday 08 August

Monday and Tuesday, 5.30pm-8.30pm

Christchurch City Campus
Monday 24 July -
Tuesday 29 August

Monday and Tuesday, 5.30pm-8.30pm

Christchurch City Campus
Monday 14 August -
Tuesday 19 September

Monday and Tuesday, 5.30pm-8.30pm

Christchurch City Campus
Monday 18 September -
Wednesday 11 October

Intensive option
Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday, 9am-4pm

Christchurch City Campus
Tuesday 25 July -
Friday 06 October

Monday and Tuesday, 5.30pm-8.30pm

Christchurch City Campus
Monday 04 September -
Wednesday 27 September

Intensive option
Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday, 9am-4pm

Christchurch City Campus
Monday 18 September -
Monday 30 October

Monday and Tuesday, 5.30pm-8.30pm

Christchurch City Campus
Tuesday 24 October -
Tuesday 28 November

Monday and Tuesday, 5.30pm-8.30pm

Christchurch City Campus
Monday 13 November -
Wednesday 06 December

Monday and Tuesday, 5.30pm-8.30pm

Intensive option
Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday, 9am-4pm

Christchurch City Campus
Monday 13 November -
Wednesday 06 December

Intensive option
Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday, 9am-4pm

Christchurch City Campus