Women Triumph in Trades Awards

Women Triumph in Trades Awards

Women took out 17 of CPIT’s 50-odd awards at a Trades Awards Ceremony, held December 4.  

CPIT has encouraged women to participate in the construction industry by offering fee-free scholarships in trades training this year. Women have not only taken up the opportunity but have shown that they have what it takes to succeed in trades.


Last year CPIT launched a Best Female in Trades Award to recognise excellence by women in trades training. In 2014, however, women have triumphed in categories from Apprentice of the Year to Most Improved and Leadership awards across the range of trades.

Female Trade Student of the Year 2014 was Keryn Reynolds.  Presenting the award, Sue Harris, CPIT Advisor for Women in Trades, said: “According to a reliable source, her boss, David Hawes of Carlton Taylor Industries, thinks the world of her, and has actually said he wants more staff just like her. She is a credit to herself and her family, and should feel very proud of her achievements, as we all are of her.”


The winners:


Student  Name


Tomas Pivac

Best Stage One Automotive

Erin Vance

Most Improved Automotive

Sharesa McIlroy

Leadership in Automotive

Yohan Yu

Apprentice of the Year

Cheyanne Neilson

Best Pre-Trade Autobody

Abraham McClimont

Most Improved Autobody

Brendon Golley

Leadership in Autobody

Cahn Fairbrass

Apprentice of the Year

Ryan Parish

Sheldon Crawford Memorial Award

Devon Ranson

3M Award for Excellence in Refinishing

Brodie Child

Best Pre-Trade Manufacturing

John Slane

Most Improved Manufacturing

Nick Rawson

Leadership in Manufacturing

Amy Harwood

Apprentice of the Year - Manufacturing

Ryan Varcoe

Best Pre-Trade Welding and Fabrication

Sarah Strachan

Most Improved Welding and Fabrication

Katie Thomas

Leadership in Welding and Fabrication

James Cummings

Apprentice of the Year

Joshua McKeon

Best Pre-Trade Plumbing, Gasfitting & Drainlaying

Steven Hick

Most Improved Plumbing, Gasfitting or Drainlaying

Gregory Newell

Leadership in Plumbing, Gasfitting & Drainlaying

Christopher Forest

Apprentice of the Year Plumbing, Gasfitting & Drainlaying

not running this year

ITO Drainlaying Award

Andrew McKerchar

Skills Organisation Plumbing Award

Anastasia Tooley

Best Pre-Trade Electrical

Thomas Lingard

Best High Voltage Student

Papaliitele Fuimaono

Most Improved Electrical

Robert van Groen

Leadership in Electrical

Nigel Smith

Apprentice of the Year Electrical

Erica Sheridan

Best Pre-Trade Carpentry

Jaden Pearson

Most Improved Carpentry

Steven Ngahiwi

Leadership in Carpentry

Stefan Jackel

Most Promising Year 1 ITAB Apprentice

Aaron Stevens

Most Promising Year 2 ITAB Apprentice

Jamie Berryman

Most Outstanding display of upcoming ability

Fraser Snelling

ITAB Most Promising Apprentice of the Year

Ana Masiu

Best Pre-Trade Painting and Decorating

Rochelle Tourell

Most Improved Painting and Decorating

Hayley Hendra

Leadership in Painting and Decorating

Shinay Archer

Apprentice of the Year Painting and Decorating - Stage 1

Andrew Toombs-Grieve

Apprentice of the Year Painting and Decorating - Stage 2

Imche Cole

Apprentice of the Year Painting and Decorating - Stage 3

Amelia Huntley

Best Pre-Trade Plasterboard

Rebecca Harding

Most Improved Plasterboard

Janae Lowry

Leadership in Plasterboard

Kim McDiarmid

Best Pre-Trade Civil

Harley Tihema

Most Improved Civil

Bobby-Joe Kingi

Leadership in Civil

Jesse van der Leij

Best Pre-Trade Furniture/Joinery

Cathie Schofield

Most Improved Furniture/Joinery

Masahiro Imanishi

Leadership in Furniture/Joinery

Shane Coetzee

Trainee of the Year - Joinery

Keryn Reynolds

Female Trade Student of the Year