Innovative CPIT team receive teaching excellence award

Innovative CPIT team receive teaching excellence award

The CPIT Restaurant, Wine and Bar Team received a Sustained Excellence in Tertiary Teaching Award at The Tertiary Teaching Excellence Awards held at parliament last night. They are the first team of teachers to be recognised by Ako Aotearoa, The National Centre for Tertiary Teaching Excellence, since 2004.

"This prestigious award is a wonderful recognition of the Restaurant, Wine and Bar Teams' commitment to providing excellent, innovative and supportive teaching. Their continued improvement of the student learning experience has resulted in consistently high student satisfaction and achievement in the School of Food and Hospitality," Kay Giles, CPIT Chief Executive said.

The team, made up of Kathryn Fortescue, Heather Dyksma, Katrina Fisher, Frances Oberg-Nordt, Jenny Ritchie, Kent Slocombe, Cheryl Stokes and Susan Taylor, have worked together since 2001. Their application for the award highlighted their teaching flexibility and innovation in the context of the Christchurch earthquake, as well as their knowledge and practise of imbedding literacy and numeracy.


 Photo courtesy of Ako Aotearoa

"The teams' ability to respond to challenges and their leading techniques in embedding literacy and numeracy are highly regarded within the ITP sector. Their achievements were formally recognised at CPIT in 2011 with a CPIT Excellence in Teaching Award," Giles said.

The team received a cheque for $20,000 at the awards ceremony which will be used to further enhance Restaurant, Wine and Bar teaching at CPIT. They also received membership to the Ako Aotearoa Academy of Tertiary Excellence.

"The award is a credit to the team and to the School of Food Hospitality at CPIT," Tony Kesseler, CPIT Manager of Hospitality,Travel and Tourism said.

Members of the CPIT School of Food and Hospitality have previously received two other Tertiary Teaching Excellence Awards: The CPIT cookery team in 2003 and Selena Chan in 2007. Chan was also awarded the Prime Minister's Supreme Teaching Excellence Award in 2007.