CTC students ‘step up’ for awards

CTC students ‘step up’ for awards


 Kay Giles, CPIT Chief Executive presents Ben Lagan with his Achievement Award.

Canterbury Tertiary College (CTC) celebrated students’ successes at the CTC Award night on Wednesday 16 November, recognising 20 talented students from High Schools around the Canterbury district for their academic achievement, inspiration and for challenging themselves throughout their CTC programmes.

CTC students work towards completing their NCEA L2 qualification at school while also completing their industry based qualification at CPIT’s Sullivan Ave Campus. Students complete the CTC programme over two years and remain enrolled at their high school where they can continue to participate in sports and other activities.

Tania Smith, Pastoral Care Co-ordinator for CTC, said the awards recognise students who have excelled both personally and academically. “The certificates are a personal acknowledgement for those students who have shown strength of character and really stepped up in the classroom to take control on their own learning,” she said.

Achievement Awards were presented to Graeme Steel from Papanui High, Ben Lagan from St. Thomas and Chris Bate from Linwood College for Carpentry, Jamie Lawson from Unlimited for Automotive, Kris Moir from St. Thomas for Masonry, Oliver Horck from Darfield High for Engineering and Johnathan Trowbridge from Linwood College for Electrical. These recipients were selected by their tutors for their outstanding academic achievement.

Students were also nominated by their peers for Inspiration Awards. These were given to students who provided support for others and were respected for their contribution the classroom. Recipients were Alex Faulkner from Shirley Boy’s High, Ethan Sullivan from St. Bedes and Peter Dalzell from St Thomas for Carpentry, Glenn Thompson from Papanui High for Automotive, Nathan Donoghue from Shirley Boy’s High for Masonry, John Lali from Linwood College for Engineering and Domanic Lapslie-Rogerson from Unlimited for Electrical.

The final awards were presented to students who had challenged themselves either inside or outside the classroom. Challenge Awards were presented to Alex Watson from Middleton Grange for Carpentry, Mason Bailey for Carpentry, Matt Leigh for Automotive and Adam Siepkes for Masonry from Linwood College, Tom Sargent from Darfield High for Engineering and Luke de Beus from St. Bedes for Carpentry.

“The awards will prove invaluable for students seeking employment and apprenticeships,” Smith said. “It shows employers the kind of people students are and the strong work ethic they have.” Some students are also planning to take on further CTC training next year to increase their knowledge.