CPIT Broadcasting students share accolades in awards

CPIT Broadcasting students share accolades in awards

Three best mates and self-confessed "news nerds" share this year's TVNZ Ross Stevens award for excellence in broadcast journalism at CPIT.

New Zealand Broadcasting School students, Annabella Garwood, Laura Twyman and Shannon Redstall were announced the winners of this prestigious scholarship at an awards ceremony at CPIT.


Established in memory of renowned journalist, the late Ross Stevens of investigative "60 Minutes" fame, the award came with a $5,000 cash prize, which the three women said they will put towards their studies. Now second year journalism students, they were judged on promise shown in their first-year course work.

"We're in a committed, competitive and hardworking class and anyone could have got this award, but it's wonderful to be sharing it with friends," Redstall said.

All three young women lived and breathed news, broadcasting school tutor and well-known former TVNZ journalist Vicki Wilkenson-Baker said.

"They are promising, articulate and bright young students who have a promising future in journalism."

TVNZ Head of News and Current Affairs John Gillespie, who presented the awards, said 

he hoped young journalists would continue to be inspired by the spirit of Stevens' legacy of journalistic credibility and integrity in this fast-past digital world, of "selfies", social media and crowd sourcing. News gathering technology may have increased since Stevens' death in 2003, but story-telling skills had not changed, Gillespie said.

"He would have loved the environment these students are working in today. He was a great story teller, and he would have relished any means possible to tell stories."